Latest news
  1. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  2. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  3. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  4. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  5. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  9. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  10. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  11. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  12. Global Conversation
  14. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  15. Cook Islands Games
  16. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  17. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  18. McSweyn Area Record
  19. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  20. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  22. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  24. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  25. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  26. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  27. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  28. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  29. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  30. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  31. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  32. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  33. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  34. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  35. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  36. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  37. Doha Report: Day 8
  38. Doha Day 7: Report
  39. Doha Report: Day 6
  40. Doha Report: Day 3
  41. Doha – Day Two
  42. Day 1: Competition Begins
  43. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  44. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  45. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  46. 2006 Oceania Championships – Samoa
  47. Gender Leadership Program
  48. 2004 OCEANIA CHAMPIONSHIPS – Townsville
  49. 2002 Oceania Championships – Christchurch

Oceania Half Marathon Championships

Oceania Half Marathon Championships

The Oceania Half Marathon Championships have were conducted in Port Vila, Vanuatu on Thursday morning.

The local boy, Simon Charley, coming off Gold Medals in the 10,000m and Steeplechase in the Pacific Game, being conducted during the week, continued his good form by winning the race.

Charley, who trains on the roads along the course, had support from the villages along the roadside. Despite the early start, each village along the race route, come out in support of their local hero. Despite the rain coming down in the droves, the small crowd gathered in the stadium, chanted in the stadium “go Charlie go” at any hint of information from the radio broadcast following the race.

When Simon entered Korman the stadium erupted, as he ran around the track, draped in the Vanuatu flag as he crossed the line. The first three athletes where all in the stadium as Charley crossed the line, summing up, what an exciting race that had been played out on the roads of Port Vila.

An intriguing battle between the leaders over the back half of the course, in the hills of the Tuaoma Villages, where lead changes between Charely and Fiji’s Avikash Lal ensured the crowd waiting in the stadium where kept on the edge of their seats. The lead changed multiple times of the middle of the race, before charley started to edge away on the hills on the return leg.

In the Women’s race, the field was strung out early, with an American Peace Corp Volunteer, running as an exhibition athlete, Francis … took  out the race, with New Zealand’s Mel Aitken, crossing second and taking home the Oceania Championships Gold Medal. Sharon Firasura, from the Solomon Islands, taking home the Pacific Games Gold Medal, and the silver medal in the Oceania Championships.

The support of the Local Organising Committee, and Local Police was tremendous. A thank you to the all of the volunteers, who manned the drink stations along the course.

Mens Results:

  1. Simon Charley (VAN) 1.15:44
  2. Armon Napuat (VAN) 1.15.57
  3. Avikash Lal (FIJ) 1.16:08

Womens Results:

  1. Mel Aitken (NZL) 1.25:43
  2. Sharon Firisua (SOL) 1.27:31
  3. Diannah Matekali (SOL) 1.31.25