Latest news
  1. Oceania’s first World Athletics Gold Level Meet
  2. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  3. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  4. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  5. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. PNG Team – Training on the Gold Coast
  46. Supernova 1 – World Athletics Racewalking Tour Silver Meet
  47. 2023 Oceania Competitions
  48. Oceania Masters Championships Entries Open

Oceania 20km Walk Championships Preview

Oceania Athletics Association

The Oceania 20km Racewalking Championships will take place in Melbourne this Saturday. The fields are headlined by both defending Champions in 20km, in Olympic bronze Medalist Dane Bird Smith and Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist Jemima Montag.

Bird-Smith has already been selected for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games by Australia and has been training hard in his home base in Queensland. Whilst not having raced a Race-Walking event in the past year, he has shown form and fitness, by coming out and competing in the Queensland Shield Meet named in his honor, running the 400m in a respectable 50.88 seconds, but it was just outside his personal best of 48.99 set in 2010.

The Field for the Men’s 20km includes Multiple NZ Record Holder Quentin Rew, who has the qualifying time for the 50km event in Tokyo and Fijian Pramesh Prasad. Prasad, has been walking on the international level since the 1990’s. Rhydian Cowley has the qualifier for Tokyo but will be looking fro another good performance here. Kyle Swan and Declan Tingay will be wanting good results, as both are on the cusp of selection for the Australian Team for Tokyo.

The Women’s race sees Jemima Montag, face off against compatriot Katie Hayward and New Zealander Alana Barber. The trio are familiar to each other, having raced 4 times against each other. Montag and Hayward have two victories a piece, but Barber has been in good vein of form, with a record setting performance in New Zealand walking 1:37.45 at the Potts Classic in January.

Entry List and Information


20km – 8:00am

10km – 9:00am

5km – 10:00am