Latest news
  1. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  2. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  3. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  4. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  5. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  9. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  10. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  11. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  12. Global Conversation
  14. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  15. Cook Islands Games
  16. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  17. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  18. McSweyn Area Record
  19. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  20. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  22. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  24. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  25. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  26. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  27. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  28. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  29. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  30. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  31. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  32. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  33. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  34. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  35. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  36. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  37. Doha Report: Day 8
  38. Doha Day 7: Report
  39. Doha Report: Day 6
  40. Doha Report: Day 3
  41. Doha – Day Two
  42. Day 1: Competition Begins
  43. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  44. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  45. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  46. Half Marathon and Marathon Area Championships
  47. Pacific Mini Games 2022
  48. Building a community of wellbeing at the Oceania Athletics Championships
  49. Rellie Kaputin Wins National Award
  50. 2006 Oceania Championships – Samoa

New Zealand Championship recap

New Zealand Championship recap

On the 17 of March was the start of the Jennian Homes Athletics New Zealand 2017 Track &milllar 2 Field Championships. During the first day of competition athlete Joseph Millar lived up to expectations, running the fastest NZ 100m championships race, smashing out a time of 10.18, a brand new New Zealand resident record. The time, although outside the qualifying standard of 10.12 for the IAAF World Championships in August, was very impressive and took 0.09 off the old resident record held by Chris Donaldson.

Canterbury distance runner Daniel Balchin won the men’s 5000m title with a time of 14:15.88 ahead of Aaron Pulford and Ryan Sissons. The women’s 5000m was won by Hawkes Bay’s Laura Nagel with a time of 16:04:45.

Defending champion Siositina Hakeai and fellow Aucklander Te Rina Keenan delivered one of the closest finishes of the day in the women’s discus. In the end keenan was the victor with a final throw of 56.06, however Hakeai could only return with 55.04 and her run of national titles was at an end.

The women’s 800m at the Jennian Homes New Zealand Track and Field Championships promised to be a close race and it delivered on that prediction, with five-times winner Angie Petty adding title number six after an intense battle with, Katherine Camp. Petty hung on tenaciously and passed Camp to win by less than a metre, recording 2:03.35, to Camp’s 2:03.54 with Schaef taking third place.

berrymanAlso providing another close finish was the women’s long jump as the 2015 champion Mariah Ririnui best jump was 6.24m, only to see 2016 champion Kelsey Berryman jump a huge 6.40m aided by a following wind.

The race with the most drama was the women’s 100m hurdles. Fiona Morrison (Canterbury) and Rochelle Coster (Auckland) ran with the defending1489812624535 champion Morrison. near the end of the race Coster triped over the last hurdle crossing into the next lane and took out Leanne Ryan. Morrison crossed the line victorious in 13.35, Ashleigh Sando came in second and Ryan regained her feet to cross for the bronze medal. Coster was later disqualified.

Quin Hartley took out the men’s 400m while the women’s title went to Megan Kikuchi. Joshua Hawkins retained his 110m hurdles title in 14.31 from James Sandilands.

In the women’s throwing events, Maddison Wesche won the shot put in the absence of Valerie Adams, with a throw of 15.04 metres, Nicole Bradley took out the hammer throw.

For more information on the championships visit the Athletics New Zealand News page click here.

For a Full list of results click here