Latest news
  1. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  2. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  3. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  4. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  5. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  9. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  10. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  11. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  12. Global Conversation
  14. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  15. Cook Islands Games
  16. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  17. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  18. McSweyn Area Record
  19. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  20. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  22. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  24. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  25. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  26. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  27. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  28. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  29. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  30. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  31. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  32. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  33. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  34. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  35. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  36. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  37. Doha Report: Day 8
  38. Doha Day 7: Report
  39. Doha Report: Day 6
  40. Doha Report: Day 3
  41. Doha – Day Two
  42. Day 1: Competition Begins
  43. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  44. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  45. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  46. Gender Leadership Program
  48. 2000 Adelaide Oceania Championships
  49. Brisbane Track Classic 2022

Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit

Tokyo Olympic Athletics Officials: 5 to Represent Oceania

Brian Roe (AUS) has great experience in all aspects of athletics – at local, national, area and international levels. He has for more than 35 years worked in the sport in both voluntary and professional capacities and continues to do so.  There could not be many people in World Athletics who have been involved in our sport in so many ways.

With his vast knowledge of the technical side of the sport, Brian has made a significant elected contribution to World Athletics through his membership of the Technical Committee since 2003 until it was disbanded in 2019.

Brian’s expertise and involvement in world athletics includes the following:

  • International Technical Official
  • Member – IAAF Technical Committee
  • Member – IAAF TOECS Working Group
  • Delegate to IAAF Congresses
  • Technical Delegate to many IAAF events and meetings including 2007 World Championships and 2010 World Indoors
  • Senior Lecturer on at least thirty RDC courses throughout the world – on administration, media, competition management and officiating
  • Consultant to IAAF Competitions and Member Services Departments
  • Athlete Representative

At Area and National level, Brian has served in countless ways, including as:

  • Team Manager and Selection Chair for Oceania and Australian Teams
  • Chair of Athletics Australia Doping Control Commission
  • Board Member, Competitions Manager, Legal Officer, Athletics Australia
  • President of his regional association – Athletics Tasmania
  • Race Director – Australian Marathon
  • Competition Director – Sydney Olympics, 1996 World Juniors and 2001 Goodwill Games
  • Meeting Director – Melbourne Meet (IAAF GP)

Brian, who has university qualifications in both arts and law, has significant expertise in event organisation and marketing, sponsorship acquisition and television broadcast liaison. He has also gained broader knowledge by working in other sports such as cycling and Australian football and was General Manager of the 1990 World Rowing Championships.

Oceania’s Plaque of Merit Award Winners:

Arthur Eustace (New Zealand)                                 1995

Denis Wilson (Australia)                                           2001

Robin Mitchell (Fiji)                                                    2003

Bill Bailey (Australia)                                                 2005

Margaret Mahony (Australia)                                  2007

Anne Tierney (Cook Islands)                                    2009

Geoff Annear (New Zealand)                                   2011

Roderick Syme (New Zealand)                                 2013

Fletcher McEwen (Australia)                                   2017

Filimoni Vuli Waqa (Fiji)                                            2019

Brian Roe (Australia)                                                 2021