Latest news
  1. Oceania’s first World Athletics Gold Level Meet
  2. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  3. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  4. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  5. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. PNG Team – Training on the Gold Coast
  46. Supernova 1 – World Athletics Racewalking Tour Silver Meet
  47. 2023 Oceania Competitions
  48. Oceania Masters Championships Entries Open

Weekly Recap

Weekly Recap

2017 Sports sp awards finalist

20170401_211202The finalists for The SP Sports Awards for 2017 have been announced. For the female athlete of the year the finalists are Abigail Tere-Apisah (tennis), Thelma Toua (weightlifting) and Toea Wisil (athletics). A total of 155 nominations were received only three have been selected for the 25th anniversary of the SPSA which will be held at Stanley Hotel on May 27.
For more info click here


Preparing for the Mini Games

The National Sports Institute of Papua New Guinea is scheduling a set of competitions over the next few weeks in a series of invitational meets for Highlands Region Provincial Teams and the surrounding provinces. The purpose of this series of competitions is to provide regional teams with the necessary preparation and competition experience and ensure they are ready for the Pacific mini games come November this year. For more information click here

CECS Level 1 in Tonga20170508_102242_002

2 weeks ago Tonga Athletics Association with the assistance of the OAA held a CECS level one course, which went from the 1st of May to the 12th of May. Overall 20 People participated in this course 4 of which were women. A highlight of the course was when New Zealand Olympic Shot putter Jacko Gill came and gave everyone some awesome advice. The course was successful with almost all participants passing.


Canterbury Athletic awards

Last week the winners of the Canterbury Athletic awards was announced as:

distance athlete of the year: Nick Moulai

Sprinter of the year: Maia Broughton

Shot-putter of the year: Tom Walsh

Hurdler of the Year: Anna Percy

Jumper of the Year: Kelsey Berryman

Combined Events Athlete of the Year: Max Attwell

Walker of the Year: Rozie Robinson

The Edmond Champagne Trophy:James Sandilands (Most outstanding athlete at the Canterbury Track & Field Championships)

Arthur Grayburn Cup: Hayden Hall (Most outstanding javelin thrower)

Technical Club Trophy (Female): Lauren Bruce (Most meritorious performance in either shot, discus or hammer by a female athlete)

Official of the Year: Craig Brown

New official of the year: Brian Theobald.

Junior performance, sportsmanship and contribution to the sport: Anastassia Naylor

Senior performance, sportsmanship and contribution to the sport: Ben Musson

Merit Awards for outstanding service: Ann Henderson and Dave Bates

For more information visit the athletics New Zealand website.