Latest news
  1. Oceania’s first World Athletics Gold Level Meet
  2. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  3. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  4. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  5. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. PNG Team – Training on the Gold Coast
  46. Supernova 1 – World Athletics Racewalking Tour Silver Meet
  47. 2023 Oceania Competitions
  48. Oceania Masters Championships Entries Open

McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time

McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time

Stewart McSweyn capped a hugely successful 2019 with a win at the annual Zatopek 10,000m in Melbourne on Saturday night (14), completing a hat-trick of victories in the classic race. The result also doubled as an Olympic qualifier and automatic nomination to the Olympic team as national champion.

The Zatopek races served as the Australian Championships over the longest track distance with both champions awarded medals commemorating Ron Clarke, who won the race five times, setting world records for six miles and 10,000m in 1963.

Genevieve Gregson (nee Lacaze) took the women’s race, the world steeplechase finalist making a winning debut at the 25-lap distance. The women’s race started much more cautiously than the men’s, possibly because Australia’s two World Championships representatives, Ellie Pashley and Sinead Diver, were not in the field, both having run last month’s New York Marathon. Gregson, making her debut at 10,000m, was understandably feeling her way into the race.

In the final 100m, it was down to two, Gregson finally got the upper hand decisively in the last 50 metres. The Olympic finalist at both the steeplechase and 5000m made her 10,000m debut a winning one, crossing the line a few steps clear of Seccafien, 32:47.83 to 32:48.30.

Among the significant statistics relating to his winning performance of 27:23.80, it was:

  • a personal best by almost 30 seconds (previously 27:50.89 in winning last year’s race);
  • the second-fastest winning time in the Zatopek race’s 59-year history, behind only Luke Kipkosgei’s men’s race record 27:22.54;
  • an Oceanian record (previously held by Ben St Lawrence at 27:24.95);
  • an Olympic qualifier and automatic nomination to the Olympic team as national champion;
  • the first time for 23 years an Australian men’s record at 10,000m has been set on home soil (previously 27:31.92 by Shaun Creighton at the 1996 Zatopek);
  • a third win in succession for McSweyn, putting him behind only Clarke (five), and Kipkosgei, Steve Moneghetti and Andrew Lloyd (four each).

Statistics Credit to Len Johnson for World Athletics