Latest news
  1. Pacific Pride: Tokyo Olympic Wrap Up
  2. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  3. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  4. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  5. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  6. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  7. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  8. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  9. Global Conversation
  11. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  12. Cook Islands Games
  13. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  14. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  15. McSweyn Area Record
  16. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  17. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  19. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  21. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  22. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  23. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  24. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  25. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  26. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  27. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  28. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  29. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  30. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  31. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  32. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  33. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  34. Doha Report: Day 8
  35. Doha Day 7: Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 6
  37. Doha Report: Day 3
  38. Doha – Day Two
  39. Day 1: Competition Begins
  40. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  41. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  42. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  43. Oceania Virtual Athletics Championships
  44. Oceania Athletics Coaches’ Association – OACA
  45. Oceania Athletics Technical Officials Advisory Committee
  46. Throwing Cage Safety and Selection
  47. World Athletics Rules Change Summary

OAA Officials Course – Samoa

OAA Officials Course – Samoa

Written by OAA Life Member Bob Snow.

With much of the infrastructure in place following Samoa’s successful staging of the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games, Samoa is well on the way to completing the facilities for the Pacific Games.

Centrepiece of the Games will be Apia Park, the venue for the Opening & Closing Ceremonies and the Athletics.

At present the venue has been closed down to allow for the upgrading of the facility, and it will not come back into use until June 2019, the month before the Games.

In early October Oceania Athletics conducted a workshop/course for prospective officials for the July 2019 Games. The course was conducted by Geoff Gardner, the President of OAA / IAAF Council Member, and Yvonne Mullins, the Executive Director of OAA. In attendance were Jerry Brunt, President of Samoa Athletics and Ah Chong Sam Chong, Coaching Director.

Following on from the successful Vanuatu experience of sending their athletes to China for four months last year, Samoa has accepted the Chinese offer to do the same with their athletes next year. At present the extensive selection process is underway as all potential athletes are being assessed prior to the final release of the travelling squad. It seems as though Samoa will send between 50 and 80 athletes to be prepared in China. It is thought that Vanuatu will once again send their squad, and there is talk of them being joined by the Solomon Islands’ squad.

After a side-trip to American Samoa, Geoff and Yvonne held a meeting with the Manager of the Samoan Sports Facilities Association, about the use of facilities and equipment in the lead-up to the July 2019 Pacific Games.

Apia Park before the work commenced on the renovation and refurbishment of all of the facilities. OAA President, Geoff Gardner, with Athletics Samoa President, Jerry Brunt, and executive members Dengue Soolalole and Ah Chong Sam Chong.