Latest news
  1. Oceania’s first World Athletics Gold Level Meet
  2. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  3. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  4. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  5. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. PNG Team – Training on the Gold Coast
  46. Supernova 1 – World Athletics Racewalking Tour Silver Meet
  47. 2023 Oceania Competitions
  48. Oceania Masters Championships Entries Open

Oceania 20km Racewalking Championships

Oceania walks champions crowned

The Oceania 20km Racewalking Championships will take place in Adelaide, Australia this weekend.

With 3 Oceania Federations represented plus several other stellar walkers from all around the world. This kicks off the IAAF Racewalking season.

The Women’s race features the top 2 from last year’s Commonwealth Games, in Jemima Montag (AUS) and Alana Barber (AUS). Sandra Lorenas is the favourite on paper, with a The South American Champion, and 5th placer from London 2017, taking out the 10,000m Track walk in Canberra only two weeks ago.

Whilst Australian Katie Hayward will be looking to add to her Oceania 10,000m U20 record, which she broke in Canberra to finish third behind Lorenas and Montag. The 20km U20 Oceania Record is held by Natalie Saville, set on the 27th of February 1997, two and half years before Hayward was born.

Women 20000 Metre Race Walk OPEN

Barber, Alana                                     New Zealand

Hayward, Katie                                 Australia

Huse, Philippa                                    Australia

Lorenas, Sandra                                Colombia

Martin, Katya                                     Australia

Montag, Jemima                             Australia

Ng, Sau Man                                       Hong Kong

Papadopoulos, Christina                Australia

Pickles, Jessica                                   Australia

Ruddick, Kelly                                    Australia

Tallent, Claire                                     Australia

Virbalytre, Brigita                             Lithuania

Tallent, Rachel                                   Australia

The Men’s race sees a field of 34 take the start line.

The local story line is two of Australia’s recent Olympic medallist racing in Australia, with Adelaide local Jared Tallent and 2016 Bronze Medalist Dane Bird-Smith both racing. Tallent racing for the first time in 23 months, after persistent injuries have derailed his walking, it will also be the first hitout since taking to the track in November to run a 1500m at a local Queensland shield meeting.

Whilst Tallent and Bird-Smith aren’t the only big-name competitors toeing the line. Evan Dunfee, the Canadian reigning NACAC 20km Racewalking Champion and 4th place in the 2016 Olympic 50km walk, starts in good form after finishing second in the Canberra 10,000m race a fortnight ago.

The winner from Canberra, Persus Karlstrom of Sweeden, who won this race last year, will look to defend his title. Karlstrom has a good record in Australia, winning his last 7 races in the country, over 4 different distances. The last time he was beaten was the Oceania Championships in 2016.

Men 20000 Metre Race Walk OPEN

Araya, Edward Chile

Araya, Yerko Chile

Arevalo, Eider Colombia

Arteaga, Mauricio Ecuador

Bilodeau, Mat Canada

Bird, Kyle Australia

Bird-Smith, Dane Australia

Blocki, Damian Poland

Brzozowski, Artur Poland

Cowley, Rhydian Australia

Dunfee, Evan Canada

Espada, Luis Puerto Rico

Gibbons, Carl Australia

Jones, Tyler Australia

Karlstrom, Perseus Sweden

Kozica, Jason Australia

Melendez, Jose Peurto Rico

Palma, Ever Mexico

Prasad, Pramesh Fiji

Reading, Brendon Australia

Rew, Quentin New Zealand

Richardson, Dylan Australia

Ruiz, Jorge Colombia

Sikora, Rafal Poland

Suskevicius, Tadas Lithuania

Tallent, Jared Australia

Tingay, Declan Australia

Tse, Chun Hung Hong Kong

Uradnik, Miroslav Slovakia

Yamamoto, Toru Japan

Ziukas, Marius Lithuania

Cortes, Araya Chile