Latest news
  1. Oceania’s first World Athletics Gold Level Meet
  2. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  3. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  4. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  5. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  6. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  7. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. PNG Team – Training on the Gold Coast
  46. Supernova 1 – World Athletics Racewalking Tour Silver Meet
  47. 2023 Oceania Competitions
  48. Oceania Masters Championships Entries Open



The second Oceania Athletics Championships was held in Auckland, New Zealand, from 22-26 February. This is right in the middle of the Australian and New Zealand Athletics season, but it was a very early wake-up call for many of the island nations.

The venue was the Mt Smart Stadium, home of the 1990 Commonwealth Games.

It was good to see Niue and American Samoa join the competition, but PNG sent just two senior athletes, one of whom, Lillyanne Beining, was attending high school in Australia. There were good numbers for the Men’s Events, but the fields were small for the Women’s Events.

One change in the programme was that Auckland held the Senior Championships and the Junior (U20) Championships simultaneously. The number of entries for the Junior Championships was significantly higher than for the Senior Championships. OAA was on to a winner here, with eleven different nations entered in the Junior Men’s 100m event. Altogether fourteen nations were entered in the Junior Championships.

Several champions of the future were in action in the Junior Championships. Paul Di Bella (AUS), Glenn Howard (NZL), Samuel Bai (PNG), Isireli Naikelekelevesi (FIJ), Rachel Rogers (FIJ – who won the 100m, 200m and 100mH), Margareth Bringold (TAH) and the New Caledonian Javelin duo – Linda Polelei and Bina Ramesh who were in both the Junior and Senior competitions. Bina won the bronze medal in the World Juniors in 1996 in Sydney, and Linda (now Linda Selui) was still competing in 2019 and is still actively involved in the sport.

In the Senior Division, the Fijian sprint stars dominated. Jone Delai won the 100m and 200m, and Vaciseva Tavaga also gold in the 100m and 200m. Another who excelled was Mary-Estelle Kapalu (VAN), who won the 400m and 400m Hurdles.

New Zealand’s Nick Bolton won the 110m Hurdles and the 400m Hurdles. Tahiti did well in the Men’s Jumps, with Thibault Cattiau winning the Pole Vault and Apolosi Foliaki the Triple Jump. New Zealander Aaron Langdon jumped a windy 7.62m to win the Men’s Long Jump. Patrick Hellier (NZL) won the Shot Putt, Hammer and got a silver in the Discus.