Latest news
  1. Oceania Athletics Championships 2022 – Mackay, Australia
  2. Continental Tour 2022: Oceania
  3. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  4. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  5. Pacific Pride: Tokyo Olympic Wrap Up
  6. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  7. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  8. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  9. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  10. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  11. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  12. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  13. Global Conversation
  15. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  16. Cook Islands Games
  17. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  18. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  19. McSweyn Area Record
  20. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  21. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  23. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  25. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  26. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  27. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  28. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  29. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  30. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  31. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  32. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  33. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  34. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  35. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  36. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  37. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 8
  39. Doha Day 7: Report
  40. Doha Report: Day 6
  41. Doha Report: Day 3
  42. Doha – Day Two
  43. Day 1: Competition Begins
  44. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  45. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  46. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  47. Zatopek:10 2022 Preview
  48. Potts Classic 2022 Preview
  49. Vale Gayle Anderson

World Athletics Heritage Plaque: Arthur Lydiard

World Athletics Heritage Plaque: Arthur Lydiard

At the 2020 Sir Graeme Douglas International, the World Heritage Plaque under the Legends category was posthumously presented to Arthur Lydiard’s family, former athletes and Athletics New Zealand by Geoff Gardner, Vice-President, World Athletics. Thank you to World Athletics for joining us for this milestone.

About the World Athletics Heritage Plaque: The Heritage Plaque is a location-based recognition which highlights, celebrates and links together iconic and historic athletics competitions, careers, performances, cities, venues, landmarks and culture around the world.

World Athletics Vice President Geoff Gardner

World Athletics is delighted to award the World Athletics Heritage Plaque, in the posthumous category of Legend, to New Zealand’s pioneering coach Arthur Lydiard. Lydiard guided Peter Snell and Murray Halberg to Olympic gold medals and Barry Magee, John Davies and Mike Ryan to Olympic bronze medals.

Auckland born and bred, Lydiard went away from the accepted norm of middle to long-distance coaching when, in 1949, he embarked on a seven-days-a-week marathon type training regime. The 1960 Rome Olympics catapulted Lydiard on to the world stage. New Zealand won two gold medals barely an hour apart as unheralded Peter Snell captured the 800m title and then Murray Halberg, Lydiard’s first serious disciple, stunned the world with his catch-me-if-you-can 5000m triumph. Snell returned to the 1964 Tokyo Olympics to win the 800m and 1500m double. Lydiard was recognized internationally not only for training elite athletes but for making jogging popular for fitness.

The World Athletics Heritage Plaque is awarded for ‘an outstanding contribution to the worldwide history and development of the sport of track & field athletics’. World Athletics is proud to honour Arthur Lydiard, whose contribution to the development and application of coaching is legendary.

About Arthur Lydiard:

Peter Snell, Murray Halberg, Barry Magee, Alan McNight. Photo: Leon Hamlet (From Garth Gilmore collection)

Arthur Lydiard was posthumously awarded the plaque due to his outstanding contribution to worldwide history and development of athletics.

Without doubt, Lydiard was the best all-time running coach in the world. He is one of the most influential personalities in world athletics. Through trial and error, he devised and perfected the ‘Lydiard system’ of producing athletes with superior stamina through long-running and testing hills and enhanced their speed with surges and hill work.

Arthur also had the ability to instil confidence in his athletes and the combination allowed them to dream of achieving the impossible. He burst into prominence at the 1960 Rome Olympics when two of his proteges Peter Snell and Murray Halberg won Olympic gold medals on the same day and Barry Magee won the bronze medal in the marathon.

His team of runners known as Arthur’s Boys trained to brilliance and went on to dominate international track and marathon running for two decades. World wide adoption of his technique by other running coaches and many coaches in other sports has seen Lydiard conditioned athletes winning Olympic, international and national titles and breaking records by the score.

The Plaque was accepted at the Sir Graeme Douglas International by the following people:

  • Cameron Taylor chair of the Board of Athletics New Zealand, and 1992 Barcelona Olympian.
  • Barry Magee, marathon bronze medallist 1960 Rome Olympic Games, seven NZ titles and member of NZ team that set a 4 x 1mile world record in 1961, who acknowledges that Lydiard is the greatest distance running coach the world has ever seen.
  • Mike Ryan, marathon bronze medallist 1968 Mexico Olympic Games, and marathon bronze medallist 1966 Kingston Jamaica Commonwealth Games, won four NZ titles.
  • Heather Matthews, silver medallist 3000m 1978 Edmonton Commonwealth Games won five NZ titles.
  • Jeff Julian, won 11 NZ titles and attended two Olympic and three Commonwealth Games.
  • Bill Rodger, NZ six mile champion 1956. First NZer to break 29 minutes for six miles.
  • Bryan Rose, NZ Sports Hall of Fame as a member of the NZ team that won the 1975 World Cross Country Championship.
  • Gary Lydiard, son of Arthur
  • Roy Lydiard, son of Arthur

Story Credit: Athletics New Zealand

World Athletics Story:

Photo Credit: Alisha Lovrich Photography