First OAAA Council – 1971 Papeete

The Second OAAA (Oceania Athletics Amateur Association) Congress was held in Papeete on the 16th September 2971 with delegates from 8 Member Federations and 5 observer nations. Only New Zealand was unrepresented. The Congress adopted a Council structure which has changed slightly over the years. The First elected OAAA Council include:

Chairman: Arthur Hodsdon (Australia)

Australia: George Stringer

New Zealand: to be named (Cecil Blazey)

Island: James Dunn (Papua New Guinea)

Island: Osea Malamala (Fiji)

Hon Sec Treasurer: George Stringer