The Halberg Foundation has announced 70 nominations for six categories at the 57th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards. Named after Olympic champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ) the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards honour and celebrate New Zealand sporting excellence.

“The nominations represent a diverse range of sports, teams and athletes which reflect on another amazing year of sport. We look forward to honouring the achievements of our athletes on the world stage along with sharing the important work the Halberg Foundation is doing changing lives of young people in communities around New Zealand,”


SPS Handa Sportsman of the Year : 

Tom Walsh (athletics) – Last year’s winner

ISPS Handa Para Athlete/ Team of the Year

Lisa Adams (Para athletics)

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year

Dale Stevenson (athletics)

Dame Valerie Adams (athletics)

The ISPS Handa Halberg Awards judges will now review the nominations to shortlist into finalists who will be announced in January 2020. The 57th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony will be held on Thursday 13 February 2020 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised free