Latest news
  1. World Athletics Veteran Pin
  2. Brian Roe – World Athletics Plaque of Merit
  3. Pacific Pride: Tokyo Olympic Wrap Up
  4. Historical Moment for Ashley Moloney; Oceania’s first Decathlon Olympic Medal
  5. Once-in-a-Lifetime Games; Privileged to be a Technical Official 
  6. Flack, Snell, Doubell … Peter Bol?
  7. Dame Valerie Adams: Oceania Athletics’ GOAT
  8. Oceania Identified Athlete from Tuvalu makes Olympic Debut
  9. Oceania Athletics Tokyo2020 Event Previews
  10. Jonah Harris on Track to Create Nauru History
  11. Global Conversation
  13. Oceania One Day Meetings 2020-21
  14. Cook Islands Games
  15. World Athletics – Wrap Up
  16. Lauren Bruce Claims Area Hammer Throw Record
  17. McSweyn Area Record
  18. Project W.I.N: HPTC Athletes take on Nutrition
  19. Area Record Holder Announces Retirement
  21. Alex Beddoes: Sportsmen of the Year
  23. Ratcliffe Sets New Area Record at Porritt Classic
  24. Oceania 20km Race Walk Championships
  25. Fiji’s Sprinter, Heleina Young, Awarded Inaugural Scholarship
  26. Tokyo Qualifiers, Records, and GIO OzDay10k
  27. Hull and Baxter Set New Area Records
  28. Palau: 4th Annual Koror Kolor Run
  29. Maurie Plant: Tributes and Memories
  30. 2020 Melanesian Championships: New Location
  31. NMA 38th Annual Christmas Island Relay
  32. Congratulations to newly elected OAA President Robin Sapong Eugenio of the Northen Mariana Islands
  33. McSweyn claims Zatopek 10,000m Victory in Record Time
  34. Sir Peter Snell, a New Zealand Athletic Legend who Always be Remembered
  35. Day 9 & 10: Doha Report
  36. Doha Report: Day 8
  37. Doha Day 7: Report
  38. Doha Report: Day 6
  39. Doha Report: Day 3
  40. Doha – Day Two
  41. Day 1: Competition Begins
  42. Press Release: 2021 OCEANIA AREA CHAMPIONSHIPS
  43. Sally Pearson, one of Australia’s greatest Olympians, has announced her retirement. 
  44. Oceania Athletics Council 2019-2023
  45. 6 National Championships in December
  46. Cross Country on a Volcano
  47. Oceania Athletics Coaches’ Association – OACA: November 2021

Douglas Donaldson Wins 2020 Around Island Relay

Douglas Donaldson Wins 2020 Around Island Relay

Sunday the 1st of November witnessed another impressive line-up of athletes and supporters for the running of 2020 Around the Island Relay. With 80 competitors registered this year, it was a large field that gathered at Gallows Gate for the sunrise start.

            The ‘blue ribbon’ category of individual runners was contested by five gutsy athletes who put in enormous effort with inspirational performances. Douglas Donaldson took the win in great family tradition, with a clinically calculated run. Second place was ably awarded to Dayne O’Hara who ran with a showing of athletic experience to take an impressive silver. Third place was handed to ‘The Legend’ of the Around Island Relay, Richard Cribb who was battling calf cramps early in the race that resulted in him nursing the ailment for the majority of the 25k’s. Eric Hutchinson was next across the line in 4th place with a quality, individual 25k run through the difficult hilly terrain, less than 40 minutes behind the winner who ran a time of 2 hrs 21 minutes on 28yr old legs.

Ricky Andrews was the 5th individual runner who unfortunately registered a DNF due to a disrupted training schedule in the lead up to the event.

This year’s field of athletes consisted of 5 individual runners – 6 running teams (six athletes in each team) – 17 Individual walkers and 5 walking teams.

The individual walk category was again dominated by Ben Hayes who blitzed any competition for first place by over 30 minutes. Second place was won by Mel Wilson who walked a fast, consistent pace to beat the huge performance of Debbie Anderson who placed third by only 25 seconds after the age graded calculation was applied. It must also be mentioned that another ‘Legend’ of the event, our much-revered Jenny Donaldson narrowly missed the podium by only 10 seconds to take out 4th spot in the individual walk category. It was also great to see Graham Donaldson and our other regular athletes from ‘Up ah stik’ attacking the full 25k course with impressive ease.

The running team category was won by ‘THE BOYS’ (TK Morgan, Nathanial Kalsrap, BB Morgan, Jonny Sheridan, Jesse Schmitz, Brandon Borg) with a 7-minute lead over second placed ‘KOSTA & RILEYS TEAM’ (T’Sharn Evans, Kosta Deszezsar, Riley Quintal, Douglas Snell, Wilkes Creek, Cameron Xtian) who are definitely the young athletes to watch for a win next year. Third place was awarded to ‘SE MOOSA HADDET’ (Emily Rives, Candice Nobbs, Kym Buffett, Katie Walden, Thea Thurgood, Aaron Graham) with a fast finish by Candice, running a great last leg to narrowly take the podium over ‘CHUBBYS CHUNKS’ (Ally Millar, Charlie Umlauft, Kenzie Davies, Bailey Millar, Wendal Fell, Nate Xtian Bailey) who ran a gutsy relay right through every stage to narrowly miss the prize pool.

The walking team’s category was won by ‘WE NEVER GIVE UP’ (Sue Buffett, Tania Anderson, Amanda Cribb, Nikita-La’A Al, Suzanna O’Brien) who were well ahead of any competition – a solid performance from these experienced athletes. Second place was the ‘EASY BEATS’ (Allan Tavener, Maria McKann, Michelle Green and Jane Trotter) who were not so easy to beat with a dedicated team, some of which walked 2 legs each – great effort. Third on the podium was the small team of ‘MARD COWS’ (Bex Watkin, Lucy Stewart, Paige Adams) who walked a blistering pace, showing good endurance with limited subs to clock a great time.

Thanks again to all the athletes, supporters and officials who contributed to another great event.